I knew there was something I forgot to do.

It’s time for Random Friday! On Monday – just to keep you guessing. And because I’m aware of the irony of designating a specific day each week on which to be random. And because I forgot.

Anyway.

I have this problem where about every month, I’ll have a string of five or so days where I discover that I’ve put my underwear on inside out.

Is this a problem that other people have? Am I dyslexic, but only with underwear? I rarely put on other clothes inside out or backwards. And when I do, I notice right away and correct the problem.

This entry will help me to get more weird, underwear-related google referrals.

***

New nerd crush. Get on board.

***

I’m becoming almost as fickle as my family, husband, and close friends say I am. I’m always looking for my next nerd crush.

And where do I go for nerd crush fodder?

Geek a week, of course.

***

I’m reading To Kill a Mockingbird for the first time. It is every bit as magical as I have been led to believe.

How did I get to be 26*/27** years old without having read this book already? Public School System, I’m placing this failure squarely on your shoulders.

What other holes are there in my reading history?

Give me a list of things I should have read by now, and I shall try to fill in the gaps.

***

Since I began dating my husband, he has promised every year to take me to the state fair. And every year, it passes without us noticing.

I want some deep-fried Dr. Pepper, dammit!

***

It’s almost October! Halloween will be happening soon! So excited. I love to play dress up.

What is everyone going as for Halloween this year? Every year I say I’m going to dress up as Daria, and every year I fail to buy a blazer in time.

Maybe this year.

***

*As I’ve mentioned, last year my birthday was so bad that I decided it didn’t merit getting older. And with the avalanche of shit that fell last month, I think the same applies this year.

**However, while I was riding high on my Chris Hardwick/Underwear Signing encounter, I mentioned that perhaps I had finally earned the extra year. So, I’m either 26 or 27, depending on my mood (but certainly not 28, contrary to what my driver’s license may say). Or, as my friend Shelby likes to say, I’m 26B. Only now it’s 26C. Or 27.

27B?

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “I knew there was something I forgot to do.

  1. David

    Funny you should mention Public School and “To Kill a Mockingbird.” We read it in class but we skipped about half the book and never finished it. Not to mention I saw the beginning of the movie about 15 times and never once saw the end. Go figure

  2. B

    I have a blazer for you to be Daria.

  3. Sophie

    I have a school girl skirt for you to be Daria. Also, it is banned book week so perfect timing on To Kill a Mockingbird.

  4. cathy

    Watership Down!

  5. rachel

    I LOVE “To Kill a Mockingbird.” Did read it in High School and have read it a couple of times since just because I love it (which means a lot coming from me b/c I’m not really much of a “for fun” reader. It is an all time favorite book. Another favorite that was high school forced was Mary Shelley’s “Frankenstein”, really enjoyed it. “Lord of the Flies” was also better than expected. Hated “Great Expectations” so hard to get through, read the first page 4 times because I’d almost nod off.
    Now you have my high school reading recommendations – don’t you feel just that much more complete.

  6. Adam

    The Stranger, No Exit, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, Wizard of Oz, Of Mice and Men. I’m sure you’ve read most of those but it still warrants saying. Also i just realized that my underwear is on inside out, so YAY! your blog enriched my mind and my day to day life!

  7. One of my favorites from high school, wasn’t a required reading, but I did compile a monologue for forensics from it, was The Handmaid’s Tale. Really interesting, and compelling… Sort of, but not really along the lines of The Clockwork Orange.

Leave a Reply

