The game that changed how we think about wealthy elderly ducks.

If you’re friends with me on facebook – which describes probably 97% of my blog-clicking audience – you already know that August is my birthday month.

Something you should know about me: in the decade-and-a-half that has passed since I turned twelve, I have not become any less obsessed with my own birthday.

Over the years, I’ve cooked up various schemes to make my birthday last as long as possible. I start making birthday-related announcements weeks beforehand. I have at least one, but often two or more, birthday parties. About ten years ago, I instituted a policy that my birthday lasts until the last piece of birthday cake has been eaten.

So, of course, yesterday I announced on facebook that my birthday is this month, and that I expect to be treated like it’s my birthday all month long.

Luckily, I’m married to an enabler.

Yesterday, he told me he’s planning on giving me small gifts all month long just in case we’re not financially solvent by the time my actual birthday arrives. And he gave me my first gift.

Ducktales, the Nintendo game.

This is one of my favorite games of all time. It’s so much fun. You play Scrooge McDuck, and your only weapon is his cane, which you can use like a golf club or like a pogo stick.

Behold!

(It should be noted that the guy playing the game in the video is not very good.)

Anyway, I’m so excited, but I can’t play it yet, because our NES is nonfunctional right now. Hmmm, I wonder what my next present will be.

You may look forward to more birthday obnoxiousness as the month wears on.

I’m tagging this as Hardwick bait. Because, why not? (Click that link for a mash up of the best movie of last year and the best movie so far this year.)

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “The game that changed how we think about wealthy elderly ducks.

  1. Gil

    Yesss! Ducktales was an awesome game. I can’t even count how many times I beat this game. You just can’t argue the total awesomeness of a pogostick cane.

  2. never played the game, but, I did learn some very valuable life lessons from watching the show…like “work smarter, not harder” – Scrooge McDuck

  3. Twan

    Might solve a mystery………..
    Or rewrite history! Duck Tales!

    Loved that show and the game. There is a level on the moon isn’t there?

  4. rachel

    I’m thinking maybe this birthday obsession thing is a Virgo characteristic! I’ll be 31 this month and am no less excited about my birthday than I was 20 years ago! What, an excuse to celebrate ME and only ME and the sheer fact that I exist? What’s not to love!!
    Happy Birthday Empress Lindsay!

  5. David

    Thanks to that show I’ve always wondered what it would be like to swim in a pool of money.

  6. adam dapkus

    prizes………

Leave a Reply

