Random Day again? Already?

I’ve been in Oklahoma most of the week. So this Random Day will have an Oklahoman flavor that some of you (my dad) may find appealing and some of you (Texans) may detest.

So, apparently in Oklahoma, Craig Ferguson gets preempted by Seinfeld. What the hell? Craig Ferguson, what did you do to piss Oklahoma off?

I noticed on the drive back that you can definitely tell when you’ve come into Texas (even if you don’t notice the GIANT SIGN). And, I hate to say it, but it’s because Texas has a lot more road clutter. Not litter – Don’t Mess with Texas – more like billboards and road signs and crap, all right up on the edge of the highway. I don’t know if I was just driving through a particularly rural part of Oklahoma or what, but coming into Texas it was like, “Whoa. Calm down. I don’t need to know that “Adoption is an option” in 20 foot-high letters, okay?”

(If you’re not from Texas, you should know that I’ve gotten myself into some hot water here, because I just said that Oklahoma was in some way better than Texas. The only option I have now is to invoke that-which-cannot-be-named, an organization so evil that it raises the ire of even the most laid-back Texan – Matthew McConaughey.)

I blame TxDOT.

(Whew. Crisis averted.)

So, getting away from controversial topics, I listened to Wicked all the way up and all the way back. Now it’s stuck in my head forever. Which I’m pretty okay with.

Also, being away from my DVR for a few days made me realize how much TV sucks in the summer. But I did get to watch about 15 minutes of True Blood on HBO. So it was a net gain.

And this hotel didn’t have a guide channel to tell you what’s coming on when, so I was totally flying blind. Which means I watched a lot of Law & Order: SVU.

You know, I watch a lot of that show on TNT when I’m feeling lazy or can’t find the remote, and I still haven’t seen every episode. I think that show has secretly been on for 50 years. Or maybe they’re filming new episodes in an alternate dimension so there’s an infinite supply. (I like the second explanation better because it involves science. Or magic. Either way, that’s the one I’m going to go with.)

By the way, I didn’t take the pretty route. I was all set to, but then I noticed that it had two toll roads. Apparently there is a price to be paid for beauty.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Random Day again? Already?

  1. adam

    Huzzah you have returned!
    TxDOT is in fact an organization run by Satan
    And SVU is shot in multiple dimensions round the clock.

  2. Dad

    Hey, Oklahoma is where Pap-pa lives and some of it is really nice to visit but at the end of the day, TEXAS is the best state in the Union. That’s right, I said it! Txdot is just another out of control government bureaucracy that has long ago exceeded it’s intended purpose in life.

Leave a Reply

