Laughter is the best medicine. But not in social situations. There, it’s more like the treatments on “House” that might work or might kill you.

I laugh a lot. I giggle, chuckle, throw my head back and erupt laughter. Life is funny. People are funny. But people don’t want you to think they’re funny. Unless they’re trying to be funny, which is usually not as funny as someone not trying to be funny.

So, in all my years of laughing a lot, I’ve discovered that if you laugh at someone who was being unintentionally funny, you need an excuse. They’ll turn around and say, “Are you laughing at me?” And you have to say, “No, I was laughing at a joke I heard earlier.” But then they ask, “Oh, what joke?” And you have to come up with a joke on the spot. So I keep one locked and loaded, ready to be used whenever I need it. It goes like this:

Q: What did one tampon say to the other tampon?

A: Nothing, they’re stuck up bitches.

Feel free to use it when you’re laughing at someone who’s just accidentally done something funny.

Anyone else have their own stock jokes for these situations?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Laughter is the best medicine. But not in social situations. There, it’s more like the treatments on “House” that might work or might kill you.

  1. adam

    My stock joke is the filthiest joke I’ve ever heard that isn’t the “Aristocrats”. I shan’t repeat it here for fear of turning off anyone who reads this, but rest assured I only get asked “Oh, what joke?” the once.

Leave a Reply

