Guilty Pleasure movies, minus the guilt. Because I have no shame.

I like a lot of movies that some may consider “bad.” Here’s some hidden gems that you should watch in spite of the gag reflex that may engage when you see the titles.

Sugar & Spice – Yes, it’s a movie about cheerleaders who rob a bank. But, listen. I promise you, this movie is so much better than you think it is. Remember James Marsden as the goofy, empty-headed prince in Enchanted? This is where he perfected that act.  And it has Marley Shelton as a cliche-spouting pregnant cheerleader. Mena Suvari being a bitch. Melissa George obsessed with Conan O’Brien. Marla Sokoloff narrates it. Seriously, fabulous movie.

Josie and the Pussycats – This has Alan Cumming and Parker Posey. That should be enough reason right there. But it also has surprisingly catchy music and Tara Reid in one of two roles she’s ever had that don’t make you want to kill her. Also? Donald Faison, Seth Green, and Breckin Meyer in a boy band. Come on.

Galaxy QuestStar Trek-style has-been actors thrown into space for real. Honestly, I shouldn’t even have to tell you about this one. You should already know about it, own the dvd, and be able to lip sync along with the characters. Sigourney Weaver and Alan Rickman are why you come, but Sam Rockwell is why you stay.

Dude, Where’s My Car? – Yes, it’s a stoner movie, and yes, it’s got Ashton Kutcher. But! It also has Seann William Scott. And Marla Sokoloff again. Coincidence? I don’t know, maybe. But still, the movie is great. Aliens! Cults! Ostriches! Bubble wrap! Fabio! How can you resist? Bonus: hot guys making out.

Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion – In addition to the awesome soundtrack and award-winning cast (Lisa Kudrow, Mira Sorvino, Alan Cumming again), this is also a really funny, very quotable movie. And Janeane Garofalo’s in it, doing what she does best: bitching about stuff.

Evolution – This is how I like my David Duchovny: showing his butt to people. Orlando Jones is also wonderful. And Seann William Scott is in it. Again. Clearly some patterns are emerging here. This movie is about an alien invasion, sort of. Also, it was originally written as a straight drama/thriller/sci-fi/horror, but was wisely turned into a comedy. I don’t know that that adds any value, but I thought it was interesting.

Jennifer’s Body – If you aren’t laughing while you’re watching this movie, you’re doing it wrong. Plus, any movie that makes Megan Fox seem like she’s actually acting deserves some credit. And it has Adam Brody as the lead singer of a satanic indie band. *contented sigh* I adore him. If I’d been born ten years later than I was, he’d be my Jason Bateman.

So, what have we learned? We’ve learned that if there was a movie about high school that had aliens in it and starred Seann William Scott, Alan Cumming and Marla Sokoloff, it would be the most underrated masterpiece of all time.

Do you think I’m crazy, and now you’ll never trust any movie recommendations I give you? What underrated movies do you love? Let’s share.

UPDATED: My husband pointed out that I forgot to mention Mean Girls. To which I responded, “Do people really think Mean Girls is a bad movie?” It’s written by Tina Fey, for kittens’ sake. And stars Rachel McAdams. (Don’t let the poster fool you. Lindsay Lohan is the main character, but Rachel McAdams steals the movie. And so does Lizzy Caplan.)

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Guilty Pleasure movies, minus the guilt. Because I have no shame.

  1. Sophie

    Jawbreaker. Hands down, my biggest guilty pleasure movie. Hot chicks (Rose McGowan & Rebecca Gayheart), Marilyn Manson, and candy. Three of my favorite things.

  2. Shelby

    Ok….there is no judging here right. My guilty pleasure in Amanda Bynes. “She’s The Man” & “Sydney White”. I can’t help it, I think she is adordable. And yes, I meant to spell it like that.

  3. J.P.

    seriously, sugar and spice? yeah, because it’s such a stretch for mena suvari to play a bitch 😛 galaxy quest, great movie, i especially like the part where siquourney and tim have to run through the things that are about to squash them and you hear here say, ‘screw that’, but you distinctly see her mouth make a word that looks like it might rhyme with duck. evolution, very fun. josie, the only saving grace WAS allen cumming and parker posey. ALSO, what about drop dead gorgeous? GREAT movie! amy adams being a slut! freaking awesome! brittany murphy with a gay brother! kirsti alley before the eating disorder(not that i can say anything about eating disorders, i’d still do kirsti alley if only because she played and extremely hot vulcan), will sasso playing an r-tard (i know, not much of a stretch for sasso, but hilarious none the less), all around funny movie and i love to watch it… and why do people hate the big lebowski and o brother, where art thou? great movies!

    • There you are, I thought I’d scared you away with my threat of calling you stupid. And here’s where I make good on that threat. Oh, dammit, no, I can’t, because then I wouldn’t get into my own heaven. Poop.
      Okay, first, have you actually WATCHED Sugar and Spice? Because that movie is so much more clever than it gets credit for.
      Second, so you’re saying that Alan Cumming and Parker Posey are the only good things about Josie and the Pussycats. They’re in the whole thing. Almost every scene. Also, you left out the boy band. They are awesome. If you can’t see that, I can’t help you.
      I love Drop Dead Gorgeous, but I left it out for the same reason I left out, say, The Princess Bride. Who the hell doesn’t think that’s a good movie?
      And I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like The Big Lebowski or O Brother, Where Art Thou? Maybe you just need to hang out with cooler people.

    • Oh, and I also love that scene in Galaxy Quest. And the one where Sam Rockwell freaks out before they land on the planet. “Is there AIR?! You don’t know!”

Leave a Reply

